WWW Wednesday – March 6, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

A Game of Thrones

A Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin

I started this on Sunday and I’ve managed to read about 20 pages. I really want to get into this book because so many people have recommended it, but it’s just not working so far. I admit that I’m still in the very beginning of the book and 20 pages out of 800 is hardly a dent, so I am going to keep working on it. But if it’s still not working for me by the weekend, I think I’m going to have to move on.

What did you recently finish reading?

The Graveyard Book

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

I have one complaint about this book . . . . I want more! This book was so beautifully written, the scenes were vivid, the characters were fascinating, and the storyline and mythology were intriguing. This book is a young adult novel (though, obviously, a dark one) and should be regarded as such.

Bod Owens is a living boy being raised by ghosts and a mysterious guardian in a graveyard. The outside world holds dangers for him and so he learns of the world through his friends at the graveyard and has finds plenty of adventures within its gates.

The chapters are long, but read quickly. Each one tells its own story. My favorite was Danse Macabray. The scenes in that chapter were intoxicating.

This is one of those books that I look forward to passing on to my daughter when she’s old enough.

This was my first time reading a book by Neil Gaiman, though I have two more on my shelf (American Gods and Anansi Boys). I am definitely looking forward to picking them up! I would love to see Gaiman bring back characters in future books . . . kind of in the way Christopher Moore gives us little pieces of his characters throughout many books. I think the Honour Guard could have a book all to themselves!

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m honestly not sure. I’ve had recent trips to both Barnes & Noble and the second-hand bookstore, so I have a stack of books I really want to read.

10 responses to this post.

  1. Have to read some of those books

    Reply

  2. Loved The Graveyard Book! So wonderful. I tried Anansi but didn’t get too far into it, can’t remember why now. Hmmmm. I also started Game of Thrones but only got around 100 pages in. I liked it, but I got very stressed by it too (?!). I don’t know. I will try it again someday. Good luck! Hope you enjoy it, people are LOVING the whole series.
    PS – Love love love Christopher Moore, I have Sacre Bleu on my shelf, along with another one I need to read…Maybe I will pick one of those up next. hmmm

    Reply

    • I think “American Gods” will be next on my list, mainly because my boyfriend keeps pestering me to read that one 😛

      I am so happy to hear from someone else who couldn’t get into “A Game of Thrones”! I was really going to keep trying, but I didn’t. I might revisit it down the line, but I have way too many books on my to-read list that I am much more excited to read!

      Also happy to find another Christopher Moore fan! LOVE him! 🙂

      Reply

      • My first one of Moore was The Island of the Secret Love Nun – oh my gosh, I about died. The best book I EVER picked up in an airport! 🙂
        Have fun with American Gods, hope you like it, people seem to really enjoy or not like at all.
        I know what you mean about the TBR, life is too short to force yourself to read books when there are so many good ones waiting in the wings.

        Reply

        • I actually haven’t read “The Island of the Secret Love Nun”! I’ll have to pick that one up! My first Moore was “A Dirty Job” 🙂

          I started “American Gods” and am about 100 pages in. It’s interesting and I’m enjoying it so far, though I definitely liked “The Graveyard Book” better.

        • I just randomly read the last couple of chapters of that tonight. Fun (graveyard book). Yes, you must pick up Love Nun, though I think I laughed more during Dirty Job (I was on the train and couldn’t stop laughing while going to work, it was quite embarrassing) – good times 🙂

        • I did the same with A Dirty Job! I love books that make me look ridiculous in public!

  3. I want to read “The Graveyard Book” sometime. I know our library has it but I think they actually have it in Juvenile Fiction and NOT in Young Adult…
    I was actually going to tell you that the book I am reading about Fairy Tales(I saw you liked it on my Goodreads timeline on FB), has a story by Neil Gaiman in it. 🙂 It’s 40 NEW Fairy tales and I haven’t read HIS story yet but I noticed he wrote one of them in the book and was excited about it!

    Reply

    • I could see it as Juvenile Fiction as well. I’d say 5th/6th grade and up. It’s a fairly simple read, but I think the content is ageless, and the scenes are so beautifully written.

      I love nearly anything to do with fairy tales and my love for Neil Gaiman is growing constantly, so I definitely need to check out that book!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

