Some words on a page

Here's a Wordle of some of the words on this page

Here’s a Wordle of some of the words on this page

I have no idea what to write about tonight. I’ve been focused a lot lately on poetry and fiction, and I’ve really enjoyed rekindling those loves. It’s been 15 years since I’ve written poetry with the same frequency as I have been lately. I’ve been working on stories that have sat idle for months and, in some cases, years. I’ve gained some a lot of direction for one of the books that’s been tumbling around in my head for more than a year. I even started to outline (I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve outlined for personal writing). But I don’t feel like working on any of that tonight.

I’ve had some great conversations today that could easily lend themselves to blog posts – science fiction type trains of thought regarding humans as pets for another planet’s non-humanoid dominant species . . . debate about ethics and human nature and animal rights surrounding the idea of another animal from Earth learning to speak and communicate with humans . . . discussion of a deeper meaning behind XTC’s Dear God, about how he adamantly states that he doesn’t believe and yet still continues to talk to God. But I don’t feeling writing about any of those things.

I have a folder on Instapaper labeled Muse. That folder holds a list of websites to help stimulate my creative process – Creative Writing Prompts, Magnetic Poetry, One-Minute Writer. I have another folder labeled To write about it. That folder holds various articles I’ve found that spark my interest and could lend themselves to a profound and intelligent post – too fat to be photographed, no cursing for girls, the battle against princesses. But I don’t feel like being inspired or profound or intelligent tonight.

I really just want to sit on the couch and enjoy a stupid movie with my boyfriend or maybe read a book or play some board games. So tonight’s blog post is just some words on a page about that things I might write about tomorrow or next week or later in the year or never.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Writing is so hard. We all hit these blocks and crossroads. Sometimes you need to step away and return with fresh eyes. I hope you enjoy a stupid movie with your boyfriend.

    Reply

  2. I’ve made a word collage before. I wrote some poetry a very long time ago. Whatever keeps you moving.

    Reply

    • Absolutely!

      I used to write poetry daily and then stopped. For the past several years, I’d write a piece or two here and there, but nothing consistent. Lately, I’ve been writing poetry almost daily again 🙂

      Reply

  3. Almost the complete opposite of my post on this same day…yours was about having tons of ideas but just not feeling like writing about any of them and mine was about having NO ideas but wanting to write something LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

