Self-reliance

Alone

I cower,
soundless and vacant,
waiting for validation.

a silent scream echoes between my ears,
the reverberations of autophobia.

pound my fists into pillows,
strands of auburn
clenched between my fingers.

over and over I beg myself for mercy,
for strength.

it’s time to love myself enough to stand.

 

Photo Credit

__________________________________________

This was written for the Trifecta Writing Challenge #68 – a piece between 33 and 333 words including the word time, using the third definition of the time.

20 responses to this post.

  1. You could waste your life whilst in the grip of this. Nicely portrayed.

    Reply

  2. Very empowering words. Well done!

    Reply

  3. I love that last line!

    Reply

  4. That last line is the flicker of hope in what seems a hopeless moment. Nice job!

    Reply

  5. I love the power behind the last line. Very good.

    Reply

  6. That’s a hard thing to do. Nice work.

    Reply

  7. Ah, I know this feeling too well! ): I’m still struggling to love myself. Awesome, powerful piece.

    Reply

  8. I Know I recently gave you an award but I couldn’t possibly nominate people for a “Very Inspiring Blogger Award” and not pass it on to you! After all, you inspired me to work hard at losing weight, right? and the very essence of your blog is inspiration. πŸ™‚
    http://therealsharon.com/2013/03/16/very-inspiring-blog-award/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

