WWW Wednesday – March 13, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

American Gods

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

I’m about 100 pages into American Gods and I’m really enjoying it so far. There have definitely been a few WTF? moments, but story is keeping me engaged. If I didn’t have a sick child home from school yesterday and today (she’s totally fine today – today was a precautionary day after spending all day yesterday keeping her 104 degree temp down!), I’d be much further along!

What did you recently finish reading?

A Catholic Mother 2

A Catholic Mother Looks at the Gay Child by Jesse Davis

This wasn’t a book I would normally read, but I found it in a used bookstore a few weeks ago and it spoke to me. You can read all about that here.

The first half of this book is exactly what the title suggests. Davis writes about her initial reactions and trying to “cure” her son and about her acceptance. She takes a look at homosexuality from a Biblical perspective and dissects the verses from the Bible that seem to mention homosexuality.

The second half of the book included an interview with her son and his boyfriend, as well as seven other people of varying ages who have come out at different stages in their lives. This was more interesting for me to read. The stories are all vastly different and I think they do a fabulous job of illustrating the point that people do not fit into molds.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Lucy

Lucy by Jamaica Kincaid

I picked up this book at the used bookstore a week and a half ago. It was recommended by a friend a few months ago, and it looks like something I’ll really enjoy reading.

20 responses to this post.

  1. Glad you like “American Gods”! 🙂
    Also Glad Abby is feeling better! Poor girl! 😦

    Reply

  2. Where’d you find the Post a Day 2013 badge? I had one for 2011, but I didn’t know there was one for 2013?

    Reply

  3. Currently Reading: This Is Where I Leave You
    Finished Reading: Fourty Rules of Love
    Up Next: American Gods sounds good, so why not that?

    Reply

    • I’m checking out your books on Goodreads – there seem to be a lot of mixed reviews on both! What are your thoughts?

      American Gods is definitely interesting. I’d love to hear your thoughts if you do read it!

      Reply

      • Sorry for taking so long to reply, I had to finish “this is where I leave you” before I could justly respond.

        It was good that I waited though because I wasn’t feeling the book much at all in the beginning (hence taking forever to read) but once I settled into his style of writing (a tad elementary for my taste), I was able to connect with what he was trying to get across. There were many good philosophical one liners — something I appreciate in all forms of media — and I’ll be damned if I didn’t have a couple tears form in my eyes towards the end. Overall, not bad.

        Forty Rules of Love was also lacking to me in the language department but I believe it’s translated(?) so that would explain a lot. It told two “love” stories, only one of which I cared about. I dreaded reading about the other as one chapter ended and another began.

        My favorite book of the past few months is “God of Small Things.” If you haven’t already, give it a shot. 🙂

        Reply

  4. Posted by Carolyn on March 14, 2013 at 8:07 pm

    “Reading” took on a different context for me today 🙂 I restarted my old business of giving readings ❤ After a decade – everything I saw myself doing, how I appeared when I was doing it….I'm doing it. It's surreal. One email to an old contact that I havent spoken to since 2002, changed my outlook.

    Reply

    • Awesome 🙂

      What kind of readings do you do?

      Reply

      • Posted by Carolyn on March 15, 2013 at 11:09 am

        Tarot ❤ Nothing fancy. Just my old fashioned Rider-Waite deck. A woman I worked for between 1999-2002, emailed me saying she had reopened her business and was wondering if I was working anywhere as a reader at the moment. I told her I was available, but due to the fact that during the last decade of absence, I've been teaching astral shielding, astral defense, dream interpretation, crystal therapy, how to read tarot, auras, and runemal, I wouldn't accept her old payment of 30%, I wanted 75% or it was not going to happen. She said "Deal, when can you start?" I'll also be teaching a class there on auras and healing the body.

        Reply

        • That is so awesome, Carolyn! I’m so happy for you! And way to go standing your ground on payment!

          I used to do a little tarot, but never got too deeply into it . . . I did astrology reports as well . . . but it’s been years!

        • Posted by Carolyn on March 18, 2013 at 10:49 am

          Yeh the hard part is building clientele. I’ve ben onvolved in crystal therapy, numerology, palm reading, dream interpretation, tarot, runes, and paranormal research since 1987. LOL, there are few people who know that. People think I’m so normal.

        • Normal is vastly overrated!

  5. lol – that is how I find books quite often! Last time it was “Chosen by a Horse” though quite some time ago now, but a memoir that I would normally ignore…except I found at a used bookstore. Was great, made me cry, everyone I gave it to loved it. Funny. Glad you are enjoying American Gods…made me feel bad for all the old gods, poor bloodthirsty things 🙂

    Reply

    • I love, love, love used bookstores! I could spend all day browsing! . . . I’ll have to look into that book!

      Reply

      • me too, we have quite a few around here, library ones, goodwill and a huge outdoor one that has been around for decades.
        It is memoir, a middle aged lady who learned something about life from an abused horse. nice, sad, ultimately uplifting. I think I ugly cried. eep

        Reply

        • There are several around the city, but I have one that’s my absolute favorite. We just went again today and came home with another stack of books! . . . . I’ll definitely add that book to my list!

Leave a Reply

