Trifecta Meme

My totally non-observant self didn’t realize this existed until another blogging friend, Carolyn, posted her Trifecta Meme. And since I have nothing planned for tonight, here’s mine:

1. What is your name (real or otherwise)?

Dayle Lynne

2. Describe your writing style in three words.

honest, personal, eclectic

3. How long have you been writing online?

I used to blog on MySpace 5-6 years ago, but that was rather sporadic. Then I had a LiveJournal account that lasted for a few months. But this blog was the first time I’ve seriously committed myself to online writing and it’s just over 2 years old. I’ve been writing online professionally for almost 2 years.

4. Which, if any, other writing challenges do you participate in?

I’ve only recently started participating in any online writing challenges, but I’m really enjoying them so far, so I keep looking for more. I’ve been participating in the speakeasy challenge for about a month, and I linked up with Yeah Write and Magpie Tales each once.

5. Describe one way in which you could improve your writing.

Read more. I’m constantly striving to improve my writing and I have noticed that, by far, what makes the biggest difference is how much I’m reading.

6. What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?

To just do it . . . to sit down and write whether I want to or not . . . to throw words on a page, even if they suck . . .

7. Who is your favorite author?

Kurt Vonnegut and Christopher Moore . . . pretty sure Neil Gaiman will be joining them rather soon . . . and yes, I know the question was singular, but I don’t care.

8. How do you make time to write?

I don’t really. I just write whenever I can. I work from home (writing), so I take breaks from what I have to write to write what I want to write . . . or I sit down at the computer and write after everyone else has gone to sleep . . . or I write on the notepad on my phone when I’m on the bus or lying in bed . . .

9. Give us one word we should consider using as a prompt. Remember–it must have a third definition.

Season

10. Direct us to one blog post of yours that we shouldn’t miss reading.

The motivation behind fat shaming
Thoughts on being poor, working hard, getting help, and passing judgment
Self-Injury Awareness Day 2013

Once again, I know this was singular, but I suck at singulars . . . so you can pick one!

2 responses to this post.

  1. I need to try out this Trifecta sometime! 🙂

    Reply

    • Yes! Please do! I’ve been having a lot of fun with the various writing prompts and challenges. And I love that some of them have very tight word limits because it makes me really think about the words I’m using and making them count . . . plus, it makes it easier to read the other contributions!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

