The joy of migraines

World spinning

can’t form a coherent thought
through the amplified sparks of sound
jetting through my dining room,
bouncing off of walls,
reverberating inside my head –
the clicking of my fingers on the keys . . .
the creaking of my daughter rocking in her chair . . .
the heavy breathing and interspersed snoring
from the man in the living room
who swears he’s not sleeping . . .
the hum of the fan under my computer . . .
all working tirelessly to keep the world spinning
and spinning
and spinning
till the nausea rises up
and the words in front of me become blurry
and the voice inside my head screams for a cold pillow and a dark room . . .

Photo Credit

__________________________________________

This poem was written for the VisDare 11: Whorl based on the image prompt above. The piece has to be less than 150 words. . . . It’s a true story and sadly, it’s the best I can do tonight. Now I’m headed for that cold pillow and dark room. G’nite all!

11 responses to this post.

  1. You captured the migrane perfectly.

    Reply

  2. I can 100% relate to what this poem is describing! I have had migraines all my life, although since I was diagnosed with hypothyroidism and started taking medicine, it has greatly reduced them. I still have them every once in awhile and ugh…they are evil!

    Reply

    • I function with at least a low-grade headache at all times, but the migraines usually come twice a month (definitely linked to female things) and they’re debilitating. Drugs don’t work, so sleeping them off is my only option! . . . . I’m glad yours have lessened . . . wish they’d go away completely!

      Reply

  3. O my! I have never had a migraine, but I have friends who battle them all the time — and this sounds very like every recounting I’ve ever heard of the awful experience. My head fairly began to pound as I was reading this — well captured!

    And YAY for a a first ever VisDare entry! Welcome to the VisDare family!!! 🙂

    Reply

    • Thank you, Angela! . . . I wish I could have put some more effort into my first contribution to VisDare, but I thank you for giving me the perfect picture to at least get this out of me! I’m looking forward to checking out future prompts!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

