WWW Wednesday – March 20, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

Lucy

Lucy by Jamaica Kincaid

I was considering waiting to write this until I finished this book because I only have about 15 pages left, but I’m exhausted and I don’t want to rush through reading this. I only started Lucy yesterday evening. It’s a book that could easily be read in one sitting and while I am moving through it quickly, I find a benefit in breaking it up and not reading it all at once.

I don’t so much like the book as I find it an interested read and one I’m happy I bought. I’ll elaborate after I’ve finished it.

What did you recently finish reading?

American Gods

American Gods by Neil Gaiman

It has been a long time since I’ve had a book I enjoyed so much that I had to stay up almost all night to keep reading. That was the case with American Gods. The concept was fascinating, the characters were wonderfully crafted, and the story had the perfect balance of predictability and surprise. The book can stand alone as just a wonderful fantasy novel or could be pulled apart for a deeper discussion of the culture in America, the way we worship, and the meaning of our gods and religion.

I’ve read reviews by others who were turned off by Shadow’s emotional detachment throughout the book, but I don’t think this would have worked any other way. His disconnected attitude allowed me to just experience the book in the same way he was experiencing this world of so many new things. It added to my appreciation of the tale and the characters and the purpose behind it all.

My only complaint is that I think this book could have easily been 100-200 pages shorter and not lost any of its magic. There are several little side stories, and while I understand their purpose, I don’t think they were needed, and I would have enjoyed them more if they were in a stand-alone book of short stories. I also get the feeling that writers of adult fiction, particularly those in the science fiction/fantasy genre, have this unspoken contest to see who can use the most words to describe a scene. I don’t think Gaiman completely fell into that trap, but he definitely got his foot stuck in a few times. . . . This could also just be a personal preference thing. (Interesting enough, I fully understand that I have very strong tendencies toward wordiness . . . and maybe that’s why it sticks out to me so much . . . because it’s something I’m constantly striving to improve in my own writing.)

This book is on its way to becoming a new HBO series. I’m a little hesitant (as I always am when the books I love are put on screen), but I’m also interested to see how this will play out in a series. Gaiman also said that he’s working on a sequel to the book, so I’m looking forward to that as well.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Trailerpark

Trailerpark by Russell Banks

This is another book I picked up at the used bookstore. It was recommended by a friend. I have a bag full of books that are on my to-read list and about a half-dozen of them on my really-really-want-to-read-now list . . . so I kind of just eeny-meeny-miney-moed it!

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen on March 20, 2013 at 9:45 pm

    Displaced Persons Ghita Schwartz – Haunting

    Reply

  2. I look forward to your comments about Lucy. I had an interesting experience using that novel in the classroom. I just finished 1491 (http://bookreviewsbycharles.wordpress.com/2013/03/20/1491-mann/) and have started Harlem is Nowhere. I’m also reading Hand Me Down World.

    Reply

  3. Yay! So glad you like American Gods, that is one I would like to reread as it has been years since I enjoyed that story. That and Neverwhere, I think I read them back to back.
    Looking forward to your thoughts on Lucy, I might have to check that one out. 🙂

    Reply

    • Neverwhere (as well as a bunch of other Gaiman books) is on my list! He is quickly becoming a favorite author of mine!

      Lucy was interesting. I’m glad I read it, but it wasn’t exactly enjoyable. The writing was fabulous though!

      Reply

  4. I didn’t know about the HBO series….that will be interesting to see but I hope they put it on Netflix!
    Didn’t know about the sequel either! Excited about that!
    Also interested in finding out what ‘Lucy” and “Trailerpark” are about.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

