Influenster – Sugar ‘n Spice

Several months ago, my friend Sharon introduced me to Influenster, “a place for culture junkies to come together and share their unique opinions of products and experiences.”

Basically, you review products that you already use and unlock badges of various themes (there’s a Book Club badge, Urbanite badge, Fashionista badge, and so on and so forth). Depending on the products you review and the badges you unlock, you could qualify for Vox Boxes – a free assortment of items for you to use and review.

A week and a half ago, I received my first Vox Box – the Sugar & Spice Vox Box. I’ve now had a chance to use all of the products in the box and here are my reviews!

Vox Box

belVita

belVita are “breakfast biscuits.” I received the cinnamon and brown sugar biscuits. They basically tasted like a cross between a graham cracker and a cookie. They were yummy and I’d definitely buy them.

Vasoline Spray and Go Moisturizer

This is a spray-on lotion that works just like spray-on sunscreen. I received the Total Moisture lotion. I wasn’t really thrilled with this. I didn’t feel like it went on evenly and I had to rub it in, which really defeats the purpose. However, my boyfriend used it and he loves it. He has ridiculously dry skin and he said it works really well. So we’re 50/50 on this one!

nectresse

nectresse is a no-calorie sweetener from the same people who make Splenda. I don’t use sweeteners that often at all. Occasionally in coffee or homemade iced tea, but that’s about it. I’ve been using Splenda for years because it’s the only no-calorie sweetener (that I’ve tried) that doesn’t have a weird aftertaste. It took me about a week to find an occasion to use the nectresse, but I went out to dinner the other night and tried it in both unsweetened iced tea and coffee. Like sugar, it didn’t really dissolve well in the iced tea. I know Splenda doesn’t really dissolve well in cold water either, but I think it works a little better than sugar and nectresse. Because it dissolves more easily in hot liquid, I was able to test the nectresse better in the coffee. I like my coffee super sweet and I didn’t need to use nearly as many packets of nectresse as I usually use of sugar or Splenda. And there was no weird aftertaste. So this was a winner in my book.

I also received a booklet that provides more information about the products and offers several recipes that include nectresse.

Dickenson’s Original Witch Hazel Oil Controlling Towelettes

These are facial cleansing wipes. They work as well as any other facial cleansing wipes. In the actual use, I didn’t really notice a difference from anything else I’ve used. I do like that they’re fragrance free because I have sensitive skin and I like that there aren’t a gazillion ingredients.

I also received 5 $2-off coupons for any Dickonson’s Original Witch Hazel products.

Colgate Optic White

I actually received three Colgate Optic White products – toothpaste, mouthwash, and a toothbrush. I like the toothbrush, but I prefer electric toothbrushes, so I wouldn’t buy this one myself. The toothpaste and mouthwash taste horrible (though after a week and a half, I’ve gotten used to the taste and it’s not so bad anymore). However, I do feel like they’re working. I hate my teeth, so I didn’t take any “before and after” pictures, but they do look whiter than they did before I started using the Optic White products. If I continue to notice a difference, I can deal with the taste and would buy the mouthwash and toothpaste.

I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I never use artificial sweeteners and I don’t drink tea or coffee so I haven’t found anything to use nectresse with yet and I haven’t tried the Colgate stuff yet because I had just gotten a new brush and toothpaste…lol…I guess I’ll eventually have to give in and try them though! I need to so I can do my review this weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

