WWW Wednesday – March 27, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

Trailerpark by Russell Banks

Trailerpark by Russell Banks

I really thought I’d have finished this book by now. I haven’t read much this past week – partly because I busy with other things and partly because I’m just not that engaged in this book. I’m enjoying it but it’s a bit slow and reads as if I were sitting down listening to the neighborhood gossip. The book is a bunch of short stories about the residents of a New Hampshire trailer park. The characters are interesting and very real, but I don’t care enough to really dive into it.

I might push through and finish the book this week, but it’s more likely that I’ll put it aside and come back to it later.

What did you recently finish reading?

Lucy by Jamaica Kincaid

Lucy by Jamaica Kincaid

I’m having trouble putting my feelings about this book into words. Lucy is a 19-year-old girl from Antigua who comes to America to work as an au pair. She is far from likeable, though she is honest and that much I respect. You get snippets of her past that fill in the blanks to a much larger story and offer a very real explanation for her personality.

This is another one of those books that I believe requires discussion . . . one of those books that makes me wish I was reading it for school or as part of a book club. There’s not one clear message I received from ready Lucy as a whole, but there were a number of thought-provoking bits and pieces.

The last paragraph of the book pulled it together for me. There was so much in that one little piece (though don’t jump to the end because it means nothing without reading the rest of the book). I don’t think I liked this book, but I did appreciate it.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m not entirely sure. The three I own right now that would be next on my list are Anansi Boys by Neil Gaiman, Sabriel by Garth Nix, and How to Be Black by Baratunde R. Thurston, but I’m going to the mall tomorrow and I’m sure I’ll stop by the bookstore while I’m there. I’ve been waiting for Time Untime by Sherrilyn Kenyon (the next in the Dark Hunter series) to come out in paperback, which it just did on Tuesday, and there are a bunch of Neil Gaiman books I want to pick up.

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by CatLadyJennie on March 27, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    I just have to say I really liked Anansi Boys. I’m currently reading Lamb by Christopher Moore, which is fun.

    Reply

    • My boyfriend was kind of eh about Anansi Boys, but the meshing of our book interests are completely inconsistent, so I can’t judge by his opinion! So, I’m looking forward to reading it 🙂

      Lamb is one of two Christopher Moore books I just couldn’t really get into (the other was Fool). I enjoyed it, but I just wasn’t committed enough to finish it. I’ll have to give it another go sometime because I really do love Christopher Moore!

      Reply

      • Posted by CatLadyJennie on March 28, 2013 at 10:18 am

        This is my first Moore book. I’m excited to hear there are others that are potentially better!

        Reply

        • Ooh! Read “A Dirty Job” next! That one’s my favorite! I’ve also read “Coyote Blue,” “Bloodsucking Fiends,” “You Suck,” “Bite Me,” and “Practical Demonkeeping” — All awesome!

  2. Looking forward to hearing what you think about the other Neil Gaiman books you read. All I have read is “American Gods” and “The Graveyard Book” now.

    Reply

    • They’re my only two so far, but I have TON of other ones on my list! 😛

      Reply

      • I’ve seen the movie “Coraline” but I didn’t realize it was by him…it makes sense that it is now that I know, though!

        Reply

        • I didn’t realize he wrote Coraline until I watched his commencement speech at the University of the Arts (which if you haven’t watched, you should – it’s amazing and more than worth the 20 minutes!). Apparently, the character was supposed to be Caroline, but he accidentally typed it wrong and decided to keep it! . . . . I’m about 50 pages into the book and loving it so far 🙂

  3. LOVED Sabriel, well the whole trilogy was awesome! So good. Hope you enjoy when you finally get to it 🙂

    Reply

  4. I chose Lucy because I was interested in her question about the people for whom she worked: How did you get to be this way? But that conversation never really sparked in class.

    Reply

    • That’s a shame that the conversation didn’t really happen. I thought that question was one of the most poignant parts of the book. There are so many places you could go with it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

