The need to disconnect

DeskI’ve been having a lot of difficulty keeping up with this whole post-a-day thing lately. It’s not because I don’t have anything to write about or even that I just don’t feel like writing. It’s because I’m sick of my computer.

Back when I had a “normal” job, I would occasionally take really long hiatuses from all things internet. I didn’t check my email. I didn’t log onto Facebook (or way back, MySpace). I didn’t chat with anyone. I didn’t endlessly browse random websites. I didn’t play any online games. My computer would sit in the corner of my living room or in the corner of my bedroom, and I just wouldn’t touch it. I had no desire to touch it. I dropped off the face of world (wide web).

I’ve been feeling that itch lately to get away, to disconnect from most forms of technology . . . except I can’t. Not just because of my commitment to blogging every day, but because my work involves me sitting in front of a computer screen for damn near half the day. I keep telling myself that if I push forward and get myself ahead of schedule, I can afford to take a break . . . with both work and blogging. But I just can’t motivate enough to pull myself ahead.

It’s pretty rare that I miss the whole leave-the-house-every-day-for-work thing, but that’s what I’m feeling right now. I miss home just being home. I miss a schedule I had to stick to. I miss that feeling of being done . . . of clocking out . . . of going home and forgetting about all of the work stuff. When work is at home, you’re always at work . . . and when work is online, you’re always connected.

I love my job. I love working for myself. I love my freedom. I love having more time for family. I love the flexibility and rarely having to say no to birthday parties or get-togethers with friends. I love that I am making huge steps toward my long-term goals. I wouldn’t trade this for anything . . . and I really don’t want to go back to the whole “normal” job thing.

It would just be nice to completely disconnect for a few days!

8 responses to this post.

  1. I hear you on this. Working at home kind of messes with your mind regarding time-off and getting online for fun instead of work. My freelance stuff is so intertwined with all the stuff I read online that it has kind of ruined facebook and blogging for me a bit.

    Reply

    • I need to get myself into some kind of routine . . . set work hours for a certain time and maybe even have a set work space (instead of the dining room table), but I’m totally unmotivated to make it happen!

      Reply

  2. I can understand needing to disconnect for a few days. I’ll miss you online when you do, though! 🙂

    Reply

    • I’m no where close to disconnecting . . . but I’m working on it, slowly but surely! I need to get ahead with work and then schedule a bunch of blog posts 🙂

      Reply

  3. Dayle Dayle Dayle….Do I understand! I finally made one post- my first-, it wasn’t even lengthy but I totally think I zapped the creative out of me for a long time. I don’t get it. I have so much to say all the time but never know how to say it. I need to start following you more closely here, or again on facebook because I know my thoughts and opinions I just really don’t know where to begin.

    And it’s ok that you feel this way. No one is ever obligated to do something just because they always have. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Cook good food instead 🙂

    Reply

    • I understand that feeling of having the creativity zapped out of you, but I’ve noticed that more I force myself to write, the more easily that creativity comes back to me.

      Congrats on your first post!

      Reply

  4. and i meant i think i’d benefit from your posts, because you know all kinds of stuff about stuff i care about 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

