WWW Wednesday – April 3, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

Sabriel

Sabriel by Garth Nix

I haven’t actually started reading this yet, but I’ll be starting it tonight. It’s been recommended by several people, so I’m hoping it lives up to the hype!

Trailerpark by Russell Banks is on hold. I do intend to finish the book, but I’ll have to come back to it. I might read a chapter here and there while reading other books.

What did you recently finish reading?

Coraline

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

Coraline is a children’s chapter book . . . I’d say it’s mostly geared towards 2nd to 4th grade, but honestly, it’s a beautiful book for any age!

I saw the movie a few years ago and thought that was a little too scary for my then 5-year-old daughter. She’s 8 now, and I think this book and the movie would be just right for her. But if your child scares easily, you might want to hold off. (I know this about the book, but from what I remember, the movie did stay very true to the book and I thought it was beautifully done.)

I finished Coraline in a day (it’s short – only 160 pages). The story is incredibly dark and creepy but has a strong message for both children and adults. Coraline is an intelligent child who craves stimulation and the attention of her parents. She stumbles into a terrifying world that seems to offer everything she wants, but there’s a cost. Coraline is a story of true bravery – of doing what’s right even when you’re scared.

I’m looking forward to reading this one with my daughter!

Time Untime

Time Untime by Sherrilyn Kenyon

I’ve been waiting for months for this book to come out in paperback. It’s the 22nd book in the Dark-Hunter series, which I lovingly refer to as my brain candy.

The Dark-Hunter books are romance novels, which is so not what I normally read. I kind of cringe every time I have to walk through the romance section of a bookstore to buy one (nothing against them – just not my thing). I do a lot of skimming with these books because I don’t care for the romance parts. I think it’s hokey. But I love the world . . . the mythology Kenyon has created. And I’m completely invested in the characters, so I have to keep reading!

This wasn’t my favorite of the series, though to be fair, a lot of new characters have been introduced in the last couple of books, so I’m not as drawn to them as I am the original characters. A lot of the interactions between characters, and particularly the romance angles, throughout all of the books are redundant. That definitely held true for Time Untime . . . so it was irritating but not surprising. The second half of the book was better than the first half. Some favorite characters did make a few appearances, so I was happy for that.

If you’re not already invested in the series, I don’t recommended starting with this book. I’m generally a read-in-order-from-the-beginning type, but the first one I read was Acheron and I don’t think I’d have continued with the series if not for reading that first.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I have a few options – Anansi Boys or Neverwhere, both by Neil Gaiman . . . How to be Black by Baritunde R. Thurston . . . The Elegance of the Hedgehog by Muriel Barbery . . . The Feminine Mystique by Betty Freidan . . . The Mimic Men by V.S. Naipaul . . . just to name a few!

5 responses to this post.

  1. I have a few books of Sherrilyn Kenyon’s now but haven’t got to them yet! So many books, not enough time! LOL

    Reply

  2. oh I hope you are enjoying Sabriel – I just picked up a collection of (I think) of short stories called Beyond the Wall set in that world. I haven’t read those Sherrilyn books, though I see them everywhere, I because there are already 22 books in the series! holy cow.
    I cringe going into romance too, though so many of my fave authors are shelved there, they aren’t your grandma’s books anymore! 🙂

    Reply

    • I’m enjoying Sabriel so far 🙂

      Yeah, the Dark-Hunter books are crazy. There were 18 when I first started reading and caught up over the course of one summer. The mythology in them is wonderful and keeps me reading! . . . And yeah, definitely not grandma’s books! (And I’m happy to find someone else who cringes going into romance! 😛 )

      Reply

  3. […] all of the books I listed last week and add Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman, How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran, Anything Goes: My […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

