Learning from fictional characters

Super quick post tonight because I have a Doctor Who and frozen yogurt date with my daughter and I’m not sure how long I’m going to stay awake afterwards.

Do you think we can we learn about ourselves from literature that is about fictional characters, especially fantastical characters?

Absolutely. I learn about myself from fictional characters all the time, and yes, from fantastical characters as well. I have this discussion with a friend sometimes because she doesn’t like to read or watch anything that’s not realistic, but I believe there is a lot of value to putting ourselves in the mindset of the impossible.

__________________________________________

This was written for One Minute Writer. The instructions are:
1. Read the daily writing prompt.
2. Push “Play” on the timer on the right side of the screen.
3. Spend 60 seconds or less writing a response to the daily prompt.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I agree with you and omg, I love this idea of a one minute writing! 🙂 I’ll have to check this out sometime when I’m completely stumped as to what to write!

    Reply

    • Yeah, I’ve had this one stored away for a while. I check prompt whenever I’m stuck, but this was the first time one of them inspired me. I don’t want to fall on using it too frequently, but it’s definitely a great way to get just a bit of writing in!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

