WWW Wednesday – April 10, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

Sabriel

Sabriel by Garth Nix

I’m still reading Sabriel. I’m not even a quarter of the way through it yet. It’s an interesting read and I definitely want to keep moving with it, but it’s a bit slow. I’ve read other reviews that say it takes a while to pick up but that it’s worth it, so I’ll work on finishing it this week.

What did you recently finish reading?

The Sandman

The Sandman, Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman (illustrated by Sam Keith, Mike Dringenberg, and Malcom Jones III; Introduction by Karen Berger)

Okay, so I admit that the only reason I read this tonight was because I really wanted to have something completely for the “What did you recently finish reading?” part of this post. I don’t read many graphic novels . . . not because I’m not interested in them but because I generally have trouble spending $20 on something I can read in one sitting. However, my boyfriend already owned this and considering how much I’m loving Neil Gaiman right now, I wanted to read it anyway (as an added bonus, it will be one of the books I review for Banned Books Week this year).

Since I don’t have a lot of experience with comics and graphic novels, I really don’t have baseline for comparison. I struggle sometimes to follow order of dialogue, but I’m sure that’s just a newbie thing. And all of that said, I really enjoyed The Sandman. It’s extremely dark and perverse, so, you know, right up my alley. The concepts were intriguing . . . I’m pretty sure I’ll reread this and spend a little more time examining the artwork (which I thought was beautifully done) and allowing myself to drift into trains of thought. I might even suck up the price and buy the other volumes (with my Books-A-Million card and coupons though!).

The dream stuff is incredibly creepy to me. In college, I struggled with nightmares . . . horribly vivid nightmares . . . and I would dream that I woke and it would just keep going . . . things would come after me and I’d be paralyzed. It was terrifying. And The Sandman brought all of those memories back . . . . but in a pleasant, enjoyable, safe kind of way . . . like watching a scary movie through half-opened fingers.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Take all of the books I listed last week and add Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman, How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran, Anything Goes: My Autobiography by John Barrowman and Carole E. Barrowman, and The Freedom Writers Diary by Erin Gruwell and the Freedom Writers — all of which I just purchased online last night after finally breaking down and signing up for a Books-A-Million card. Though, honestly, I should probably stop buying books until I get through the stack I already have! (But it’s really hard to stop when I get discounts and coupons! . . . . And I just like to have books . . . it’s very comforting . . .  maybe I should write about that!)

8 responses to this post.

  1. FUN! I keep meaning to reread the Sandman series. It goes in all sorts of directions and it is just so awesome to drool over the art and the gothic and strange sandman and his brothers and sisters. Bummer Sabriel is so slow. It definitely picks up! Hang in there! 🙂

    Reply

    • I really want to get my hands on the other issues. I’ll have to try the used bookstore first and then see what I can do with discounts and coupons!

      I’m definitely invested in Sabriel, so I’ll keep going. I’m intrigued enough to want to know what happens!

      Reply

      • Good luck! There should be more issues out there since Gaiman announced the prequel he is creating.

        Reply

        • booksamillion.com has Sandman Vol 2 for $12 . . . and if I spend $13 more, I can use my $5 off $25 coupon! . . . Unfortunately, I made a promise not to buy any more books until I read half of what I already have 😛

        • Ah man! That is a good promise, my TBR is out of control, I don’t know how long it would take me to read half of it…dang. Good luck!!

        • Thanks! I have about 20 or so to-reads that I own . . . and more than half of them are recently purchased, so I figure I need to at least get through the ones I’ve bought in the last month!

  2. ‘The Sandman” sounds interesting and I have read maybe a couple graphic novels in my life but this sounds like one I should try!
    I totally understand what you mean about buying books, I have tons and tons of books and I’m always adding more! LOL
    You can bet at this year’s Annual Library Book Sale, I will be bringing bags full more home!

    Reply

    • I think you’d like Sandman!

      I don’t think there’s any such thing as too many books . . . can’t wait to hear about your haul from library sale!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

