Five Question Friday – April 12, 2013


Answer the questions in the comments or on your own blog (but leave a link)!

1. Where do you hide things from your kids?

Our middle bedroom, which is actually used as my boyfriend’s office/walk-in closet. My daughter never has a reason to go in there, so it’s perfect.

2. What is your favorite rainy day activity for bored toddlers?

Oy, it’s been years since I’ve had to entertain a toddler. With my daughter, it was always pretty easy. We’d play games, watch a movie, read books, play dress up, build with LEGOS . . . she’s always been an easy child to entertain.

Here's a picture of my daughter when she was a toddler . . . entertaining herself in my friend's dog's cage . . . we actually had to lock her out of it and she was not happy!

Here’s a picture of my daughter when she was a toddler . . . entertaining herself in my friend’s dog’s cage . . . we actually had to lock her out of it and she was not happy!

3. Are you a punctual person or are you always running a few minutes (or more!) late??

I am mostly a punctual person. When I worked a “normal” job, I always had to be at least 10 minutes early. For social activities, ideally I show up exactly on time . . . and I’ve actually become really good at that as long as public transportation isn’t involved (or even if it is and I have a store where I can hang out). However, I’ve become much less obsessed with being early/on time when taking the bus or train. I shoot for whatever’s closest, even if it’s 10-15 minutes late . . . . but I will let the person I’m meeting know.

4. When eating out, do you prefer off the beaten path “Mom and Pop” cafes or tried and true national food chains?

Generally, I prefer Mom & Pop places. Philly is chock full of them and most of the time, the food, drinks, and service are significantly better than the chains. I have a few favorite places (South Street Souvlaki, Eulogy, Moriarity’s, Shan Chaun), but I’m always happy to check out some place new. We will hit a chain every so often. It’s just not my first choice.

5. Does your significant other snore? Do YOU snore?

YES! – Read all about it here. Different people have told me different things. I know I at least snore lightly. My boyfriend acts like it’s not that lightly, but I have friends who say they can barely hear me. Obviously, I can’t hear myself, so I’m going with my friends since my boyfriend only brings up me snoring when I start bitching about his! (Seriously though, if you didn’t click the link, I can hear him through closed doors and on a different floor of the house. It’s really, really bad!)

4 responses to this post.

  1. Oh I can relate with the loud snoring! My husband was that loud before he started using his machine!
    Abby’s so cute in that picture…did you have your ferrets when she was that little? Did she try to play in there too?
    I know toddlers can be pretty silly…I remember my nephew being obsessed with big boxes…he could play in those for hours and neglect whatever toy was inside!

    Reply

    • We’ve only had ferrets for about 2 years, but I’m sure if we did have them back then, she’d have tried to get in the cage!

      Boxes are the best presents ever! 😛

      Reply

  2. Posted by Karen on April 12, 2013 at 9:11 pm

    1. well I don’t have kids
    2. movie with popcorn
    3. I used to be punctual before I married a Mexican, now I think I am on Mexican time – but I do try to be on time when people are expecting me
    4. off the beaten path – can’t stand chains
    5. oh yes he snored, but that’s now someone else’s problem 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

