WWW Wednesday – April 17, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

Sabriel

Sabriel by Garth Nix

Yes, I’m still reading Sabriel. I took a break from it this past week to read a couple of other things, but I started up again a couple of days ago and it seems to moving along quite a bit faster. I’m about half-way through the book now. I’m enjoying the story and the world Nix has created. Sabriel is an interesting character and I think Moggat has definitely helped to move the story along. Part of the slowness for me is that I’m really not interested in belabored descriptions. It’s not really a criticism against the writer, just a difference in style preference. At half-way through, I feel like at least 1/3 of the book wasn’t necessary. Of course, I won’t know that for certain until I finish it! (Which, I most certainly will do this week!)

Coraline

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

I read this a few weeks ago, but I’m reading again with my daughter. We’re doing a chapter or two a night, so we should finish by the end of next week. I’m looking forward to hearing a child’s perspective when we’re finished. We’re only 2 chapters in so far and she’s really enjoying it!

What did you recently finish reading?

Grimm Fairy Tales

Grimm Fairy Tales Vol. 1 by Ralph Tedesco, Joe Tyler

I’ve always had a fascination for fairy tales . . . not the Disneyified, cutesy-talking-animal, happy-endings-tied-up-with-a-pretty-bow fairy tales . . . more of the dark, twisted, not-really-made-for-kids fairy tales . . . the Grimm stories, newer renditions of old classics, and completely new fairy tales. So when I saw the graphic novel Grimm Fairy Tales, I thought I would easily fall in love with it. I was sadly mistaken.

There was a lot of potential, but the stories fell flat. There are six classic fairy tales (with twists even darker than the actual Grimm versions) that are tied together with a modern story. The modern stories are pretty hokey. The concept of the fairy tales is interesting, but they’re rushed and predictable. The artwork is okay. Nothing special.

I’m kind of interested to see where the rest of the story is going but not likely interested enough to buy the other volumes. Maybe I’ll read them in Barnes and Noble sometime.

Lust Lizard

The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove by Christopher Moore

I haven’t read a Christopher Moore book in a while, so I thought it was time I correct that! The last two Moore books I attempted were Fool and Lamb. I could not get into Fool at all and I’m not sure I’ll even give it another try down the line. Lamb was interesting and funny at times but didn’t really keep my attention (I do plan to give it another go at some point). Because of those two experiences, I’ve really been craving a page-turning, laugh-out-loud Moore experience . . . and that’s exactly what I got with Lust Lizard.

Moore has a way of making unbelievable characters completely believable. Lust Lizard brings back many of the characters from Practical Demonkeeping. I admit that I only vaguely remember them because it’s been more than 3 years since I’ve read that one, but I always enjoy crossover characters and this may prompt me to reread Practical Demonkeeping.

Lust Lizard is about the town of Pine Cove turned upside down by a psychiatrist who switches everyone’s antidepressants to placebos and an ancient, hungry, and horny sea beast named Steve. It’s ridiculous and thoroughly entertaining, like most of Moore’s books.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m still not sure . . . and I’m not going to write out all of the titles again! I might just have to do an eeny-meeny-miny-moe!

12 responses to this post.

  1. Have you ever read any of Neil Gaimen’s Sandman?

    Reply

    • I read the first volume a couple of weeks ago and loved it! I need to plow through a bunch of the to-reads I already own before I can justify buying the next one though. At least I have 4 other Neil Gaiman books included in those to-reads!

      Reply

  2. Lust Lizard!! I loved that book, such fun. I tried The Stupidest Angel but haven’t made it through the whole thing (also in Pine Cove). I need to attempt to read Fool again, I started it but got distracted. I also have Sacre Bleu to read… hmmmm

    Reply

  3. You’ve been busy reading this week! 🙂
    Never heard of “Sabriel” before but glad you’re enjoying it!
    Sounds like the “Grimm’s” graphic novel could have had potential but sucks that it didn’t turn out too well. 😦
    I haven’t read “Lust Lizard” yet but I definitely want to! 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

