WWW Wednesday – April 24, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

Neverwhere

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

I started Neverwhere on Sunday and if it wasn’t for the fact that I’m overloaded with work now, I would have finished on Monday. I’m a little more than 25% of the way through the book. I wish I could abandon my blog, abandon work, abandon everything else and just keep reading. It’s that good! As it stands, I’m pretty much grabbing a few pages here and there throughout the day. I’m hoping to get some solid reading time in this weekend though!

Island of the Sequined Love Nun

Island of the Sequined Love Nun by Christopher Moore

I’m listening to the audio book read by Oliver Wyman. I’m not generally a fan of audio books, but I recently signed up for a gym membership and I thought this would be a great way to distract myself while on the treadmill while also getting an extra book in. I tend to get distracted easily, so sometimes I have rewind a bit. So far it’s really good . . . typical Christopher Moore hysterics . . . I just wish I was reading the actual book! (Though it is definitely serving its purpose!)

Coraline

Coraline by Neil Gaiman

As I mentioned last week, I’m reading this with my daughter. I read it myself a few weeks ago and loved it. We’re a little more than half-way through the book and my daughter (8) says, “It’s weird but good!”

What did you recently finish reading?

Sabriel

Sabriel by Garth Nix

Yes! I finally finished Sabriel!

I enjoyed it. I loved the way Life and Death were described in the book, the magic of the bells, the “good” and “bad” necromancers, the Old Kingdom . . . the whole world was fabulously created and it was a great story. I just wish it was about 150-200 pages shorter.

I tend to have difficulty getting into “other world” type fantasy books (I managed a whole 23 pages of Game of Thrones and I could never get into the Lord of the Rings). I had a discussion with a friend the other day that helped me understand why. There’s so much description of that world, which makes sense really . . . the author can’t just say, “He walked through Times Square,” or “The stood on a London street corner.” The reader has no pre-formed ideas about this world, so the author needs to describe the details. And that’s great for those who are into it, but I just don’t care . . . I just want to know what is happening.

All of that said, for an “other world” type fantasy book, it did pull me in and made me want to finish, so definite credit for that. . . . And I even added the second book to my reading list.

How To Be Black

How To Be Black by Baratunde Thurston

I have so many thoughts about this book it might require its own blog post, but I’ll try to sum them up here.

Many months ago, a friend shared this book on Facebook. I read the description on Amazon and it was hysterical. I immediately added it to my to-read list. My first impression of the book based solely on the description was that it would be mostly a really funny book that also managed to point out the ridiculousness of stereotypes. After reading the book, I’d amend that to say that it’s an interesting and thought-provoking social commentary/memoir that illustrates the ridiculousness of stereotypes . . . and also happens to be funny. When I bought this book, it was shelved in the humor section . . . and as laugh-out-loud as it was sometimes, I don’t think it belonged there.

The book reads like a bunch of blog posts . . . or one really long blog post. From the time I started until the time I finished the last word was less than 30 hours. In addition to Thurston’s stories from his own life, he includes commentary from “The Black Panel,” a selection of black comedians, writers, musicians, and artists . . . and one white writer from Canada.

How To Be Black feels like several books in one . . . some just full of funny quips, some satire, and some full of serious stories, but they flow in and out of each other so effortlessly that it all works really well. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys serious social commentary combined with lots of humor!

What do you think you’ll read next?

Anything Goes

Anything Goes: My Autobiography by John Barrowman with Carole E. Barrowman

This is most likely what I’ll read next, but honestly, I have a giant stack of books sitting next to me, so it could change. Anything Goes is John Barrowman’s first autobiography that he wrote with his sister, Carole E. Barrowman. I’m going to meet John Barrowman at the Wizard World Comic Con in June, so I want to finish this book and buy his second in hardcover before the Con so that I can have him sign it. (For those who don’t know, John Barrowman is most well-known for playing Captain Jack on Doctor Who and Torchwood . . . oh, and I’m kind of obsessed with him!”

6 responses to this post.

  1. Nice! Island AND Neverwhere at the same time!? Love it. 🙂 I want to reread both now! Hope you enjoy them all the way through and that Island gets you through all the tough parts of the treadmill. I barely read anything this week. Too dang busy – blergh. I will hopefully finish Infinity soon, it has gotten completely nuts! 🙂

    Reply

    • I don’t typically do more than one book at a time, but since one’s an audio book, it’s different 😛 . . . The book is definitely helping with the treadmill, though it did get a little slow for a while and now it’s picking back up 🙂

      I saw that you finished Infinity . . . I need to check out your thoughts!

      Reply

  2. You’re doing pretty good with reading, even being busy! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

