WWW Wednesday – May 1, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

Anything Goes

Anything Goes: My Autobiography by John Barrowman with Carole E. Barrowman

I’m a few chapters in and am enjoying it so far. Though I do think this would be better as an audiobook.

Island of the Sequined Love Nun

Island of the Sequined Love Nun by Christopher Moore

I’m listening to the audiobook. I’m just about half-way through. It’s definitely not my favorite from Moore, but I’m enjoying it. It’s dragging out because I don’t really do audiobooks and I only listen to this on the treadmill, which I only do for a few hours a week (and it’s a nearly 12 hour audiobook). But I can say that it has given me several laugh-out-loud-in-public moments!

Athena the Wise

Athena the Wise (Goddess Girls #5) by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams

I’m reading a chapter or two a night with my 8-year-old daughter. I bought this book for her a year and a half ago after seeing the series recommended on This Kid Reviews Books. It’s taken us a while to pick it up and read it, but we’re both already really enjoying it! It’s cheesy, but I think that much was expected. And I have to say, as a former teacher who loves doing read-alouds, this is a really fun book to read out loud!

What did you recently finish reading?

Neverwhere

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

I think this is my favorite by Gaiman so far. If I could have, I would have locked myself away in a room and finished this book in one sitting. It has an Alice in Wonderland feel to it, but it’s really its own story. The protagonist is Richard Mayhew, an average Joe who gets thrown into the dangerous and wonderful world of London Below. The idea of an entirely new world underneath our feet can have me daydreaming for weeks!

I adored the characters in Neverwhere . . . as well as the description of the journey through London Below. My only complaint is that we were left with a couple of unanswered questions, but that seems to be pretty common for Gaiman.

This was recently made into a radio play for the BBC Radio. The last I checked, I wasn’t able to listen online or download it. I need to check again. The cast includes James McAvoy, Benedict Cumberbatch, Anthony Head, and Bernard Gribbins, which is reason enough to listen! I also just discovered that this was originally a TV series, so naturally, I need to get my hands on that as well!

Coraline
Coraline
by Neil Gaiman

I finished reading this book with my daughter. Since I already gave my thoughts when I read it a month or so ago, here are her thoughts — “I think it was mostly weird and I really loved that Coraline was really, really brave. And I liked how the cat could only talk when he was in the other mother’s world and not in the real world. It was kind of weird but it’s cool.” — She gave the book 5 stars.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Stardust

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

It’s always a toss-up, but I’m leaning towards Stardust. I’m in the midst of a Neil Gaiman obsession, so why not?!

4 responses to this post.

  1. “Neverwhere” sounds really cool! I’m glad I found it at the library book sale! 🙂

    Reply

  2. I love Neil Gaiman! You should definitely read Stardust next! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

