Facade

Put on a happy face and pretend like everything’s all right . . .

pretend like my heart isn’t breaking . . .

pretend like I’m not falling apart. 

Act as if . . .

as if all is well . . .

shallow answers to shallow questions . . .

Yearning to scream . . .

tell the world I can’t be who they want me to be . . .

I just can’t. 

Tired, weak, and I don’t want to feel. 

can’t sleep . . . rest comes in small short-lived waves. 

Inside feels so small,

outside much too large.

I feel cramped or exposed

and I don’t know which is worse. 

keeping up pretenses . . .

allowing the world to continue to see what they’ve always seen.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Sometimes, it’s about putting on that happy face and pretending. It’s very possible to trick our brains into the reality we create. =) Take good care of yourself, Dayle! Be true but honest to yourself. =)

    Reply

    • This is actually something I wrote several years ago, but it felt real to me the other night . . . . I understand the fake it till you make it thing and sometimes it is what I need . . . other times I need to let what’s real out . . . . the trick is knowing when to do what!

      Reply

  2. I completely get this poem and just want to say feel free to let it out sometimes. The people who truly care will still be there and love you regardless. 🙂 ~Hugs~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

