WWW Wednesday – May 8, 2013

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next?

WWW Wednesays

Feel free to share your answers in the comments or on your own blog (please leave the link if you do that!).

What are you currently reading?

Stardust

Stardust by Neil Gaiman

I haven’t actually started reading this yet, but I just put my bookmarker on it, so I’m definitely about to start . . . . probably before bed tonight, but tomorrow morning at the latest.

Athena the Wise

Athena the Wise (Goddess Girls #5) by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams

My daughter was at her dad’s this past weekend, so we lost 4 nights of reading, but we should still finish this one by next week. We’re both enjoying it so far!

Island of the Sequined Love Nun

Island of the Sequined Love Nun by Christopher Moore

I’m still listening to this one. It was getting pretty slow for a while, but it’s started to pick up. I’m hoping to have this one finished by next week as well.

What did you recently finish reading?

Anything Goes

Anything Goes: My Autobiography by John Barrowman with Carole E. Barrowman

This was a really slow read for me. In fact, I just finished right before starting this post. I wanted to love this more than I did. In case you’re new, I have a bit of an obsession with John Barrowman, so I was looking forward to reading his autobiography. There were parts that were fun and enjoyable and parts that were pretty slow.

Anything Goes is pretty much just a bunch anecdotes, mostly about Barrowman’s theater life. The book is very conversational, which I enjoy, but there really wasn’t enough conflict for it to be an interesting read straight through. Barrowman’s lead a pretty privileged life, which I don’t begrudge him at all and I certainly don’t wish things were more difficult for him, but it doesn’t really make for great reading. That being said, I think I would have enjoyed this much more if I were listening to him read it . . . . I watch a lot of interviews with John Barrowman and the stories in his book sound like some of the stories he would tell and with his expression and tone, they come to life in a way that I don’t think is possible in writing.

There were a few shining parts of the book that I really loved. Obviously, I loved anytime he wrote about his experiences on Doctor Who or Torchwood. (On a recent Companions Special for Doctor Who, Barrowman talked about what it means to him to be a part of the show and he actually started to choke up . . . as a devout Whovian, I adore that!) The bits about his partner, Scott and his nieces and nephews were a lot of fun, as well as his explanations of theater superstitions. The best chapter in the book, in my opinion, was also the saddest . . . . he wrote about a friend he lost, someone whose memory wasn’t honored in the way it should have been and so he wanted to give her that space, and it was very touching.

As I already mentioned, most of the book details his theater experiences, which are definitely varied and impressive. I think theater geeks would get a lot more out of this than I did . . . . If you’re a theater geek and a Barrowman fan, then you should definitely read this!

What do you think you’ll read next?

Oy, I’m just starting my current book . . . it’s difficult to think ahead to the next one!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Karen on May 8, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    I just bought Precious Objects tonight after hearing the author speak – it was a fascinating lecture. If the book is half as interesting as the author it’s going to be great.

    Reply

  2. I am thinking most memoirs would be fun to hear read by the author, wish I listened to Tina Fey read hers, though the book was fun, I think it would just add something special to hear the voice you already know and love! Fun books this week, hope you enjoy Stardust!!

    Reply

    • I think you’re right about memoirs . . . maybe I’ll make that a goal . . . dig through all the memoirs on my reading list and try to find them in audio books 🙂 (I’m actually reading another memoir now – one of the reviews actually said it was like a British version of Bossypants 😛 – and I’m thinking the same thing about being able to listen to her read it!)

      Reply

  3. Stardust is on my to read list! 🙂 Let me know how it is!
    Is the movie “Stardust” based on it, I wonder? I just thought of that.

    Reply

    • I really enjoyed Stardust! Not my favorite by Gaiman, but that doesn’t mean much when I LOVE all of his books! (And yes, the movie was based on the book, but they’re different enough to really enjoy both 🙂 )

      Reply

Leave a Reply

