Book Review: Stardust

I decided to abandon the WWW Wednesday posts. Instead, I’m just going to post reviews/reactions after each book I read.

StardustStardust by Neil Gaiman

 

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Rating: 4/5 stars

This was a fast and fun read. While the writing style is definitely recognizably Gaiman, this felt much lighter than the other books of his that I’ve read. Even his other children’s books felt like they had deeper concepts than Stardust, but I don’t think that’s a negative. Sometimes those light, easy-to-read books are just what I need.

Stardust is about Tristran Thorn (I actually read his name 3 or 4 times before I realized there was a second “r” in it), a young man who falls in love with the most beautiful girl in his village. He asks for her hand in marriage and she tells him she’ll give him what he wants if he brings her back a star they watched fall. To get the star, Tristran must go through the gap in the wall that separates his village from the world of Faerie.

I enjoyed the second half of the book much more than the first half. Many of the characters irritated me in the beginning. I did really love Gaiman’s descriptions of Faerie and the way he entwined the paths of several different characters (which he seems to do quite frequently in his books). The book is definitely dark at times and there are some incredibly violent moments, which remind me of what fairy tales were before they were Disneyfied.

This was great for light reading and a bit of escapism, and like with every other Gaiman book I’ve read, my biggest criticism is that I would have liked to read more.

_______________________________________

Upcoming reviews — Island of the Sequined Love Nun by Christopher Moore, Athena the Wise (Goddess Girls #5) by Joan Holub and Suzanne Williams, and How to Be a Woman by Caitlin Moran

My Goodreads profile

4 responses to this post.

  1. This actually sounds just LIKE the movie so I guess the movie was based on this after all!

    Reply

    • I’ve only seen the last 20 minutes or so of the movie and it’s definitely different from the book, which I was actually really happy about because it means I didn’t have the end of the book ruined for me 😛

      Reply

  2. Sounds like a good read…my kids really liked the movie…I didn’t watch it all with them…but there were some parts that seemed a bit dark and creepy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

