depression

depression

treading through the greys —
thick like honey to slow my movements —
          pushing
                    stretching
                              reaching . . .
                                        the rainbow watercolors
                                                  of Springtime pastels
                                                            almost within my grasp . . .
till I topple underneath my own penchant for comfort

Photo Credit


__________________________________________

This was written for the Trifecta Weekend Writing Challenge #68 – a 33-word piece that uses three of the following words: topple, paradigm, underneath, nerve, honey, loop

28 responses to this post.

  1. Oh how I wish I didn’t understand this poem so well. ~Hugs~

    Reply

  2. Yes. I believe you’ve described it perfectly.

    Reply

  3. An emotional read! Thanks for sharing. I will follow your blog and return to read more, for sure.

    I have a new writing blog that I created after self-publishing my first novel for the Kindle. Please check it out and share your writing experiences with me!
    http://gdalexander.wordpress.com/
    -G.D.

    Reply

  4. I liked moving from the grays to the colors. I hate anyone has to suffer depression.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Draug419 on May 18, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    I hate how happiness is always so tantalizingly out of reach in the worst times ): Great description of a bad feeling.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Thomas Marlowe on May 18, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    Your imagery is sublime – Here’s to the days of rainbow colours and surprising joy.

    Reply

  7. Posted by christi74 on May 18, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    Really good description. And I love the name of your blog!

    Reply

  8. so hard to get out of that web – good description.

    Reply

  9. Posted by KymmInBarcelona on May 18, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    Those rainbow pastels always just out of reach. Gotta keep reaching, tho!

    Reply

  10. Wonderful descriptions. That last line struck me because it is so easy to seek comfort, but that comfort is what keeps us from reaching the colors.

    Reply

  11. What a perfect depiction.

    Reply

  12. Beautiful lines-“the rainbow watercolors
    of Springtime pastels
    almost within my grasp . . .”\
    True,how what we aspire for always seems that way.

    Reply

  13. Well written and touchingly sad. Keep reaching for the rainbow watercolors.

    Reply

  14. Love your use of words in your poetry Dayle! Always so good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

