Book Review: Island of the Sequined Love Nun

Island of the Sequined Love NunIsland of the Sequined Love Nun by Christopher Moore

Genre: Humor, Fantasy
Rating: 3/5 stars

My rating might be a bit off because I listened to the audiobook. I know I lost a lot of the story because I have a tendency to drift off and daydream. It’s taken me two months to finish listening to this, which is really quite ridiculous, but I just struggle to motivate to put the headphones on.

I did enjoy most of what I managed to listen to . . . at least enough that I’m still planning to buy the actual book and start over.

Island is about Tucker Case, a pilot who, through some rather odd and embarrassing situations, finds himself flying for a doctor on a remote Micronesian island. His world is filled with questionable medical practices, cannibals, a god in the form of a smoking and cursing WWII pilot, and a sexy sky priestess.

The story felt slow at times, but that could very well be because I was listening to it (I have issues paying attention to anything auditory when I don’t have a visual to go with it). There were definitely moments when I laughed out loud. The story is weird, but if you’ve read anything by Christopher Moore, that shouldn’t come as a surprise.

This certainly doesn’t rank among my favorite Moore novels, but it was still fun.

_______________________________________

Upcoming reviews — The War of the Worlds by H.G. Wells, The Freedom Writers Diary by Erin Gruwell and the Freedom Writers, and Sugar Plums to the Rescue! (Sugar Plums #5) by Whoopi Goldberg

My Goodreads profile

4 responses to this post.

  1. This is one of the reasons I have never tried audio books…I just can’t pay attention…but maybe if the book was sung? LOL

    Reply

    • Haha . . . . I definitely think that would help! . . . . I just started listening to the radio show for Neverwhere and that I’m enjoying, but with that one it’s okay if I tune out for a bit because I’ve already read the book. So I think I could do audio books for books I’ve already read (and loved) and that might be fun if there’s a good narrator!

      Reply

  2. One of the pitfalls of audio books. Use to listen to them when I did data entry, if you could concentrate on the book they were a great escape, but as soon as you had to think on something else for a minute whatever was said was missed. Usually had to listen to the book 2-3 times to make sure I got it all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

