A minute of weariness

What wears you out and drags you down the most?

Depression and anxiety exhaust me. Some days are difficult to even get out of bed. I feel a weight on me that I can’t shake and I just want to escape the world. Even when I know that my fears are irrational, they can still be debilitating. I struggle to ask anyone for help because I don’t want to be seen as needy, so most of the time I live with it and deal with it on my own. I’m fighting and taking steps to make things better because I know it shouldn’t be this hard just to live . . . just to be functional.

_______________________________________

This was written for the One Minute Writer prompt from June 16, 2013. The instructions are:
1. Read the daily writing prompt.
2. Push “Play” on the timer on the right side of the screen.
3. Spend 60 seconds or less writing a response to the daily prompt.

10 responses to this post.

  1. I know it’s hard, but never feel like you’re needy. Those around you love you and are willing to help out however possible. Sometimes everyone needs a hand.

    Reply

  2. Just wanted to share here about how my niece/best friend called me a few days ago around the SAME time as this post and was venting about things to me. She ALSO told me thanks for letting her vent, because she feels like she is bothering people when she does that. I thought about how you had basically said the same thing, and it makes me sad that anyone would feel that way. We all NEED to vent, and we all need someone just to listen. If anyone feels like it’s a bother to them, then screw them! The people who truly care will want to be there for you, and it won’t be a bother to them.
    Cheers to Manon1979 for what they posted! People like them are the ones you need in your life! 🙂

    Reply

    • A lot of it I know is irrational, but I’ve always had difficulty reconciling what I feel with what I know . . . . of course, that’s why I’m back in therapy! ❤

      Reply

  3. Life. I know that answer is obtuse, but naming each and everything would take more years off my life. 🙂 Regardless, I’ve learned how to cut out many things that just add to the weight. The news, for example, is a big no-no. It just makes me sad or angry, and that helps no one. So, I spend more time doing things that make me happy.
    BTW, if you’re venting to a true friend, they don’t think you’re “heavy”, so why should you?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

